European Open Winners

ASH, UNITED KINGDOM - JULY 06: A close-up of the trophy during the final round of The European Open on July 6, 2008 at the London Golf Club in Ash, Kent, England. (Photo by Andrew Redington/Getty Images)The European Open Golf Tournament, has for obvious reasons, been dominated by UK golfers over the years. They have always enjoyed a home ground advantage, are acclimatised to the conditions, and more importantly, have been the definite crowd favourites.

European Open Golf Tournament

What is a bit disarming is that there have not been more players from continental Europe to succeed at the richest tournament – bar the Majors and World Golf Championships – of the European Tour. More and more young European golfers are been enticed to the States by golfing scholarships at American universities and, of course, the lure of bigger prize purses! Even more intriguing is the number of antipodeans who have been successful at the European Open.

It is a well-known fact that many rising stars from New Zealand and Australia prefer to cut their teeth on the lesser European Tour before making across the Atlantic to try their hands on the PGA Tour 2007 US Open winner, Australian Geoff Ogilvy, made no bones of the fact that his best years were in fact when he was on the European Tour.

The PGA Tour and the European Tour

“The PGA Tour sorely misses that sort of atmosphere (of the European Tour). I hear that the Nationwide Tour has it, but this one (the PGA Tour) doesn’t. There’s too much money out there. In Europe they all travel together. It’s like a family, really. Or a circus,” he said.

The American fraternity are not known to support the European Tour, and this trend is pretty obvious when you consider that only two Americans have won the European Open in its 30-year history.

Recently, however, the likes of Phil Mickelson and Jim Furyk have broken the shackles and contested tournaments in Malaysia, Hong Kong and South Africa, and hopefully this will set a precedent for the rest of the top golfers of theUnited States.

European Open Winners

Year Venue Winner
2008 The London Golf Club, England Ross Fisher England
2007 K Club, Dublin Colin Montgomerie Scotland
2006 K Club, Dublin Stephen Dodd Wales
2005 K Club, Dublin Kenneth Ferrie England
2004 K Club, Dublin Retief Goosen South Africa
2003 K Club, Dublin Phillip Price Wales
2002 K Club, Dublin Michael Campbell New Zealand
2001 K Club, Dublin Darren Clarke Northern Ireland
2000 K Club, Dublin Lee Westwood England
1999 K Club, Dublin Lee Westwood England
1998 K Club, Dublin Mathias Gronberg Sweden
1997 K Club, Dublin Per-Ulrick Johansson Sweden
1996 K Club, Dublin Per-Ulrick Johansson Sweden
1995 K Club, Dublin Bernhard Langer Germany
1994 East Sussex National, East Course David Gilford England
1993 East Sussex National, East Course Gordon Brand, Jnr Scotland
1992 Sunningdale G C, Berkshire Nick Faldo England
1991 Walton Heath G C, Surrey Mike Harwood Australia
1990 Sunningdale G C, Berkshire Peter Senior Australia
1989 Walton Heath G C, Surrey Andrew Murray England
1988 Sunningdale G C, Berkshire Ian Woosnam Wales
1987 Walton Heath G C, Surrey Paul Way England
1986 Sunningdale G C, Berkshire Greg Norman Australia
1985 Sunningdale G C, Berkshire Bernhard Langer W Germany
1984 Sunningdale G C, Berkshire Gordon Brand, Jnr Scotland
1983 Sunningdale G C, Berkshire Isao Aoki Japan
1982 Sunningdale G C, Berkshire Manual Pinero Spain
1981 Royal Liverpool GC, Hoylake Graham Marsh Australia
1980 Walton Heath G C, Surrey Tom Kite United States
1979 Turnberry Hotel, Ailsa Course Sandy Lyle Scotland
1978 Walton Heath G C, Surrey Bobby Wadkins United States

Will Ross Fisher be able to defend his European Open title? Check out the latest European Open odds, and back the probable European Open winner. Take a look at our European Open betting tips and European Open betting guide pages for more information.