European Open Golf Betting Guide

The 32nd European Open Golf Tournament returns to The London Golf Club near Sevenoaks and Brands Hatch, North Kent in England. This will be the second successive event at the London Golf Club after 13 years of play at Ireland’s K-Club (Kildare Hotel and Golf Club).

The Jack Nicklaus-designed Signature Heritage Course will see a world class field of the leading male golfers on the PGA European Tour contesting for the Harry Vardon Trophy.  The big names in golf, including eight Major Champions, are expected at the 2009 European Open Golf Tournament:  Greg Norman, Michael Campbell, Nick Faldo, Retief Goosen, Ian Woosnam, Tom Kite, Bernhard Langer and Sandy Lyle.

England’s Ross Fisher will be back to defend his 2008 European Open after beating Sergio Garcia with seven strokes on the Heritage Course. Colin Montgomerie – eight-time European Open champion and the 2007 winner – will also be making an appearance at this official money event on the 2009 golfing calendar.

European Open History

Founded in 1978, the European Open has been contested at various golf courses around England, including Walton Heath Golf Club in Surrey, the Royal Liverpool Golf Club, Sunningdale Golf Club and the East Sussex National. In 1995, that European Open Golf Tournament moved to the renowned K-Club in Dublin. 2008 saw the tournament shift to its current location, The London Golf Club in Kent.

European Open Golfers

Since the turn of the millennium, only two non-British players have lifted the European Open crown – Michael Campbell of New Zealand in 2002 and Retief Goosen of South Africa in 2004. On the other hand, the rising stars of British golf like Justin Rose, Paul Casey, Ian Poulter and Luke Donald, have not seen any great success. This could, in part, be due to the fact that the golfers are focused on the richer and therefore more lucrative US-based PGA Tour. For example, the 2008 European Open (which was won by England’s Ross Fisher) was played at exactly the same time as the $6-million AT & T National at the Congressional Country Club in Bethesda, Maryland.

The European Open has, on two occasions, been won by the same golfer in consecutive years – Per-Ulrik Johansson of Sweden in 1996 and 1997 and England’s Lee Westwood in 1999 and 2000. These two golfers are featured on our European Open Golf Champions page.

European Open Betting and Odds

The European Open Golf Tournament will test the fitness, skills and mental toughness of each player. Not only does their technique have to be perfect, but they have to overcome some of the most formidable hazards of each course to be victorious over the European Open odds.

The European Open Golf Tournament boasts a £2,400,000 purse and acts as a stepping stone on the way to the Dubai World Championship which will be played from November 19-22, 2009. However, the leading golfers need not be the only lucky ones with bulging wallets.

Why not live the game and take part in the 2009 European Open betting? Take a peek at our European Open betting guide and European Open betting tips page.